Project Life 2012: Week 11

Week 11!  Can I really almost be caught up?  So exciting!

Here it is:  Full spread.  For both sides I used a Design A page protector.  I don’t know what makes this week different but I LOVE how all the colors seemed to just go together…the papers, the pix, everything.  Maybe it’s just because I love the picture of my oldest standing out in the rain wearing my old hat… 🙂

Left side: Spring, homemade laundry detergent, typical mornings, friends, dead palm removal, food (because we DO love to eat…), and a surprise thunder storm.

I tried something new this week.  If you’ve looked at my previous layouts (what…you haven’t perused every square inch of my blog yet? Well, get going!) you know that I love a collage (kinda like that song, “I love a parade”.  No?  Ok then). Up till this point I’ve used Picasa’s grid line feature in the collage section so that there was a white border around all the pictures within the collage, separating them visually.  This time I embraced the strange and left them borderless…and don’t quite know what to think about it.

On the one hand, I really like it, because the collage seems a little less busy, visually. On the other hand, without borders, they all seem to flow into each other, making it harder to see the individual shots.  Hmmm.

Remember the flappity of last week?  Here’s something I discovered about how to deal with the washi tape hinge on the back side of the page.  See how the washi tape partially covers my label on the card about laundry detergent?  Next time, I’ll just move the label to the other side of the card.  Luckily, this washi tape is opaque so I can still read the partially obscured journalling.

Right Side:  Park day, Pi Day, Flat Stanley, NV State Museum, and the Springs Preserve.  Can I just take a moment here to talk about how valuable Pinterest has been for my Project Life workflow?  Whenever I need filler, it’s there for me, providing a funny quote or a funny picture or whathaveyou.  I love Pinterest.  So there.  (Feel free to follow me, the button to do that is up on the right somewhere…I pin a lot.  I might even having a pinning “problem”…but I’ll never admit it and you can’t make me. 😀 )

Another “collage without borders”. LOL!  I got that great Pi Day graphic by using The Google and searching Pi Day images.  Loving doing my Week in Review on 3×4 cards.  I’m a woman of few words so the smaller size works for me.  (I hear many of you thinking that the opposite is true, considering how I tend to ramble on and on in this blog but seriously, I let my pictures do most of the talking in my album.)

Aaaaaand…another collage.  This is where I feel like the pictures were all so similar that it could be visually confusing.  Does it matter?  Am I taking myself and this project too seriously?  Dunno.

Again this week, I included a QR code.  This one is of my boys rolling down a hill at the park.  It’s the first time that my oldest really enjoyed doing this so I had to include it.  My youngest didn’t really get the concept and just backed down the hill…which was hilarious and so, Project Life worthy.  🙂

That’s it for this week folks!  I’ll be linking up at The Mom Creative and One Happy Mama.  Be sure to stop by there and check out all the great Project Life inspiration!

Oh, and if you haven’t seen the latest video from Becky Higgins revealing the new page protectors that will be available in July, head over there and take a look!  Some of the new designs actually made me say, “Yes!” out loud, to no one in particular, as I sat in front of my computer watching the video.  Sometimes I embarrass even myself.

Have a wonderful week!

4 thoughts on “Project Life 2012: Week 11

  1. I am the same way about the Picasa collages – I like even just the slightest white border so I know where one picture ends and the next begins. But one day my husband tells me he likes them better WITHOUT the border, so I keep going back and forth. Glad to see I’m not the only one that has that problem 🙂

Leave a Reply

